Skip to main content

Breaking News
  • Europe Air Safety Agency will shortly lift recommendation to avoid flying to Tel Aviv, said the spokesman (Reuters)
  • Missing Air Algerie plane is Airbus A320 carrying 110 passengers to Algiers – Algerian Official
  • Air Algerie says it has lost contact with a plane leaving from Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
  • European Central Bank says its website hacked, some email addresses and other contact information stolen but no market sensitive data affected
  • European Court of Human Rights rules Poland violated European Convention on Human Rights by allowing CIA to detain two al Qaeda suspects on Polish territory

Bolivia is to become the fourth South American country to be included in the Dakar Rally since the gruelling event was relocated from Africa in 2009.

The 2014 host nations were unveiled on Wednesday in Paris and Bolivia was including at the expense of Peru, which will miss out this time around.

Also for the first time, competitors will bivouac in two different countries as the cars and trucks are not expected to compete in Bolivia. They will remain in Argentina and Chile while only the motorbikes and quads will tackle the race’s latest addition.

Race director Etienne Lavigne said: “It’ll be a very different Dakar 2014 than those that have come before because we’ll be visiting three countries: Argentina, Bolivia for the first time, and then Chile, a country already known by the Dakar, and reach Valparaiso, which will be the finishing point of the Dakar 2014.”

Next year’s edition of the rally will begin on January 5 in Rosario, Argentina, and finish in the Chilean city of Valparaiso on January 18.

The specific towns hosting stages for the race will be announced in April, with the finalised route made public in November.

Copyright © 2014 euronews

More about:

Log in
Please enter your login details